Uncategorized

Brought Within The Tribe

The following post of mine appeared on Zeh Lezeh, the blog of the Ruderman Family Foundation. The RFF does great work on Jewish inclusion, and I encourage to check out their blog and their work.

Zeh Lezeh (For One Another)

Matan KochBy: Matan Koch

I saw the beautiful grinning photo this morning of the young daughter of one of my camp counselors from the ‘90s, taken on the first day of camp.

It was typical of my social media feeds these days, replete with photos and messages of my slightly older friends sending off their children to the Jewish camp of their choice, and my peers reflecting on their children just a bit too young for camp, indulging in the dream of when they will do that first send off.

The themes of these posts, stated and unstated, are familiar; from “I can’t wait for my child to have the wonderful social and growth experience that I did” to “I can’t wait for my child to have the Jewish experience that I did” to the implied “I really hope that my child has the wonderful experience that I did and grows…

View original post 831 more words

Standard

Leave a Reply

